Did we do the right thing?

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Many people who saw Sanika’s video asked one question in private. The question came in many flavors but crux of all the questions was “How do you know you are right choosing one (academic continuity) over other(Opportunity at Hand)”. While I can give rather lengthy answer full of details. Here is the simple but most honest one.

I don’t know whether the decision will eventually turn out to be positive or not.

If you are theist I will quote Bhagwan Krishna i.e. Bhagwad Geeta – “Karmanye Vadhikaraste ” . You have control/right only over what you do & not on the outcomes. IF you are an atheist I will quote Steve Jobs i.e. “You can not connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect the dots looking backwards”

In my mind there are no wrong decisions.When you make a decision its always right because your conclusion is outcome of your knowledge of things at that point of time, your assumptions / educated guesses about future & your past experiences. The outcome might itself turn out to be positive or negative. We often paint the decision as wrong if the outcome is negative. I feel being regretful of past decisions is being ungrateful to self & god.

Life is a journey , a chain of events and experiences. This was a different, enriching, learning experience It was fascinating to see her being put to test especially in terms of maturity & I would happily give her 8/10 for that.

The learning from this will go a long way. Will she try her hand at something similar? Probably Yes. Will an opportunity in the same area present itself for her? I hope so, but even if it doesn’t I am not going to lose sleep over it.

What I did enjoy though was the overwhelming support from all our well wishers. For me that is the greatest takeaway.

Leave a comment